“The tables are turning, mon”

On the way to Los Angeles International Airport this afternoon, I thought I was about to be murdered.

In the run-up to a weeklong business trip, I called the car service I’ve been using for years to pick me up at my home. The driver arrived promptly at 1:30 p.m., the arranged time.

. . .

“My music is political,” he said.

That was a pretty interesting comment, so I asked, “About what kind of politics?” “I hope as Jew,” he now raised his voice and sneered, “you can take what I am about to say. My politics are about the Jews.”

And then the rant began. Continuing to raise his voice, he told me that Mel Gibson knew what he was saying. He told me he used to favor the Jews until they, themselves, became the Hitler under whom they suffered. He told me that the Jews are indeed the root of all the world’s problems today.

. . .

“Just like a Jew — always telling the world what to do,” he responded. “Don’t you worry about me. Worry about what you do in the world. You make my life miserable. I don’t care if I die. Maybe I’m a terrorist, like my Palestinian and Arab brothers whose lives you have destroyed. Maybe I am just going to now crash this car and kill both of us.”

. . .

“The tables are turning, mon,” he said. “The tables are turning. You will no longer have the power. The world is sick of you and knows who you are.”

We were now inside the airport, and I felt safer. I leaned forward, “You have no idea who I am or who my people are. All you did was spew hate.”

“Spew hate?”–drink!

But seriously, one may find it a little odd that the Jamaican used the collective “you Jews,” interchangably with referring to this particular Jew, but . . .

“I don’t want to listen to anything you have to say,” he said. “You think about what I said. We’ve heard enough from you.”

Indeed.

. . .

I walked into the airport, relieved to be alive and away from the guy. I thought about Gibson; about recently fired publisher Judith Regan, who was going to publish the O.J. Simpson book; about Iranian President Mahmoud Ahmadinejad; about the brutal torture and killing of Ilan Halimi in France; about all the recent pronouncements of anti-Semitism throughout the world.

You’re doing it–you’re doing it right there! See? (“who was going to publish the O.J. Simpson book”) You can’t help but attempt to smear someone even when the subject is yourself (Reagan was working on a book about some baseball player, actually).

. . .

Gary Wexler is founder and president of Los Angeles-based Passion Marketing . . .



JewishJournal.com

Explore posts in the same categories: Tomorrow Belongs to Us

Leave a Reply

